Skip to main content
HealthNationalNews and viewsParliamentPortsmouth

Portsmouth MP calls for Health and Care Heroes for NHS Awards ahead of deadline

By 11 March 2024May 29th, 2024No Comments
Photo © of Stephen Morgan MP

City MP Stephen Morgan is calling for nominees to enter the official NHS Parliamentary Awards in recognition of staff who have gone above and beyond the call of duty.

The annual NHS Parliamentary Awards offer a chance to celebrate NHS staff, carers and volunteers who go the extra mile to look after our loved ones when they are at their most vulnerable.

The City MP is now searching for outstanding nominees for the 2024 Awards who have innovated, impressed and made a real difference to how the health and care system provides care for patients.

This year there are 10 award categories, including the Lifetime Achievement Award, the Rising Star Award and, new for 2023, the Excellence for Education and Training Award.

The 2024 Parliamentary Awards launched on 29 February 2024, and all those who make the national shortlist will be invited to an award ceremony in Westminster to celebrate their fantastic achievements.

Nominations close midnight, Friday 19 April.

Commenting, Portsmouth South MP Stephen Morgan said:

“The NHS is one of our country’s proudest achievements which has been built on the hard work of its dedicated staff, including those in Portsmouth who make a true difference to lives of their patients.

“Whether it is our doctors, nurses, pharmacists, medical scientists, cleaners, clerical staff, porters, or our amazing volunteers – all their hard work and commitment is essential to delivering the best healthcare possible when faced with immense challenges.

“I want to recognise those individuals and teams at this year’s NHS Parliamentary Awards. I want to hear from you about any outstanding care you have received in the last year so that I can nominate our local heroes for these awards. There’s still time to nominate, so please do send your suggestions to my office via email.”

For more information on how to nominate and the criteria for each category, visit:

Suggestions for nominations can be sent to Stephen Morgan MP’s office via:

The City MP is calling for potential nominations in the following categories:

  • The Excellence in Healthcare: This award recognises individuals or teams who go above and beyond to either prevent major health conditions or improve outcomes and experiences for patients living with and beyond them.
  • The Excellence in Mental Health Care Award: To the individual or team that has worked across organisational boundaries to develop new and effective services to help people living with mental health problems in their community.
  • The Future NHS Award: This award seeks to highlight individuals, teams and organisations that are successfully embracing the opportunities that come from advances in medical technology, data, and connectivity.
  • The Nursing and Midwifery Award: This award is for any nurse or midwife, that has used their skills to ensure that patients experience care and compassion.
  • The Health Equalities Award: This award is for an individual or organisation that has helped the NHS to do its bit by bringing together different groups and organisations to reduce health inequalities and prevent ill health in different communities.
  • The Excellence in Primary Care and Community Care Award: As the needs of patients and the wider NHS evolves, so does the role of these professionals, and this award seeks to recognise practitioners and teams in primary or community care that are working with patients to help them stay healthy and avoid long stays in hospital or being admitted in the first place.
  • The Excellence in Urgent and Emergency Care Award: To the individual or team that has made improvements to how the NHS treats people in life or death situations.
  • New for 2024! Excellence in in Education and Training Award: This award will recognise a team or individual that is leading the way in supporting the delivery of the NHS Long Term Workforce Plan through innovative approaches to education and training which benefit new and existing staff, support professional development and improve patient care.
  • The Volunteer Award: The brand new Volunteer Award is for volunteers working to support the NHS to provide excellent care for patients, helping them to keep healthy and well.
  • The Lifetime Achievement Award: This award is for an individual who has worked within a health or care setting for 40 years or more who has left a legacy.